Experience in Humla

I come from Germany and currently I am a participant at the International Institute for Social Entrepreneurs (IISE) in Kerala. For my two months internship I decided to work with HEAD Nepal in Humla.


“Humla is considered as one of the most remote and isolated regions in Nepal, reachable only by foot or small aircrafts which are irregularly landing in the district head quarter, Simikot. It is situated high in the Himalaya, in Karnali zone, North-western Nepal, bordering the Tibet Autonomous Region.”
This is what you can find about Humla on the internet. It was also what I read before leaving Kerala, but I was not really able to imagine what this means. I just imagined a countryside place with a lot of mountains around. I got a better idea what it means when I arrived in Kathmandu. I was told that there is no plane due to bad weather conditions and I need to wait. I was very lucky because after two days there was a flight to Humla, but I heard that before there were 2 weeks without any plane reaching the district.

Once arrived in Humla I found out that there are no streets. Of course, if there are no cars there is no need for streets. It is better to talk about footpaths that are covered with rocks and water flowing down in the rainy season. This leaves the ground muddy and slippery. The first days I found it hard to orientate myself because I was not able to recognize streets. Only on the main market there is a large road, but instead of cars you find chicken going for a walk.

I stayed with a Humli family. Highlights were momos, interesting Tibetan tea and a good internet connection. Things to adjust to were rice and dal every day, washing clothes at the water tab outside and many people speaking Nepali.

My tasks were fund raising and preparation of a sustainability plan. This involved mainly computer work. I went on a field trip to visit a unit of the mobile blind school. It was a long and exhausting trip, but a good experience. I also participated in a class of mobile blind school in Simikot. This gave me the opportunity to collect interviews with children and parents.

I want to say thank you to HEAD Nepal for the great learning experience in Humla and also during my work in Kathmandu. A special thank you to the family of the founder where I stayed during my time in Humla. Though our communication was very limited, they always tried to make my stay as comfortable as possible.

Leave a Reply

